Robert Ivy Shines With A Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert Ivy is a professional and an architect who is the CEO and EVP of the American Institute of Architects. Just recently, he received the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement award which was given by the Mississipi Institute of Arts and Letters.

Mr. Ivy has helped expand AIA’s influence in the architectural scene. Being a professional from Mississipi, he also understood the needs of the community and he participated in supervision of projects that help uplift the development of the area, as well as mentoring other architects by honing their innate skills.

Only a handful of people have been given the honor to receive the award. Apparently, it is only awarded to Mississipi artists and their proponents who helped contribute to improvement in the status of art in the state. Former recipients include the late artist Walter Anderson, singer Leontyne Prince, writer Eudora Welty, writer Shelby Foote, as well as actor Morgan Freeman.

AIA was delighted that Robert Ivy has received the award. He commented that Mr. Ivy has dedicated his cause to the developing of the architectural scene in Mississipi. He believes that Mr. Ivy, who fulfills many roles such as a practicing architect, writer, and editor is a great example in the architectural profession. The Noel Polk is a symbol of professional as well as a personal accomplishment for Robert Ivy as a citizen born in Mississipi. Mr. Carl Elefante, the president of AIA, congratulated Robert Ivy for his award.

Some of Robert Ivy’s other awards prior to the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement include being a Master Architect recognized by the Alpha Ro Chi fraternity. Other recipients of this position included Mies van der Rohe, I.M. Pei, and Buckminster Fuller. Mr. Ivy also received a 2017 Dean’s Medal from the University of Arkansas. The medal was awarded in the University at the Fay Jones School of Architecture.

Robert Ivy will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as a stained-glass art by designer Andrew Cary Young in Pearl River Glass Studio. The award will be presented on June 2 at the Mississipi Institute of Arts and Letters.

To Learn More Click Here